Ready for my trip to Brazil?

Am I ready for my 6 month trip to the Brazilian rainforest?

Hello! My name’s Helen and I’m work for  Newquay Zoo, Cornwall in UK / Great Britain. From June to December 2011, I’m going to be working with the team at the REGUA /  World Land Trust rainforest reserve in Brazil. This World Land Trust (WLT) is financially supported by British zoos in the BIAZA (British and Irish Zoo and Aqaurium Association) as part of the WildSpaces project.

I first went to the  BIAZA / REGUA Brazilian reserve  Autumn 2010 http://www.worldlandtrust.org/wildspaces/ , supported by Newquay Zoo. I went to see the work that REGUA and WLT are doing with the funds from BIAZA zoos in Britain and Ireland. You can see more about this first trip at www.worldlandtrust.org/news/2011/01/biaza-explore-heart-brazils-atlantic-rainforest.htm 

The British BIAZA zoo staff on the trip including the BIAZA Director Miranda Stevenson saw the hard work of the WLT / REGUA team in their habitat restoration, helping to provide a link for many rainforest animals (many that we support in our zoos) to find sanctuary and safe passage through the reserve.  

I was delighted when Kelly Jacobs and Alan Martin on the WLT / REGUA reserve project team in Brazil asked me to return to the reserve and help out for 6 months.  It means leaving my zoo duties behind for six months ranging from looking after Alvin the animal encounter Skunk to teaching my City and Guilds animal management students from Cornwall College Newquay 

The  BIAZA Reserve Project in Brazil is an exciting collaboration between the World Land Trust and BIAZA  who work together to raise funds through BIAZA members and their visitors. 25 BIAZA members have already collectively raised over £120,000 towards the purchase of 1651 acres (668 ha) of Atlantic forest or Mata Atlântica. Known as ‘The BIAZA Reserve’ this property is now owned, protected and managed by WLT project partners REGUA.

I’ve been learning some basic Portuguese to help me work with the local rangers and staff but I’m also looking forward to helping with surveying the wildlife and plant life on the reserve and working with visitors from many countries …

You can see more about my trip in my profile ‘About’ and read more about BIAZA / World Land Trust/ REGUA / Newquay Zoo by looking at the Blogroll links to their websites.  

I have set up a Flickr account of my Brazil 2010 2011photos http://www.flickr.com/photos/helenbrazillaworldlandtrust2011/

Best wishes

Helen ‘Brazilla’

and her support team back in the UK , Kelly at the World Land Trust, Polly, Cher, Kathy and Mark at Newquay Zoo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

